Christian Academy in Japan Board of Councilors Meeting Minutes

Date and Time: 17 September 2019, 8:45am

Meeting Place: Annex Meeting Room

Higashi-Kurume-shi, Tokyo 203-0013

Current Board of Councilor Members: 19 (AE §25)

Councilors Present

- 1. Carlson, Pauline
- 2. Chung, Jaine Yeong Yueh
- 3. May, Gerald
- 4. Peterson, Joel
- 5. Spalink, Lawrence
- 6. Stoesz, Karen
- 7. Tada. Hiroaki

Councilors who submitted prior opinions (written ballot) on the agenda

- 1. Buchholtz. Grant
- 2. Duhrkoop, Pamela
- 3. Gho, Jeong
- 4. Mutenda, Lawrence
- 5. Potter, Nelle
- 6. Reasoner, Jonathan
- 7. Roberts, Poppy
- 8. Selander, Aileen
- 9. Shew, Paul Tsuchido
- 10. Taylor, Ken

Absent

- 1. Duhrkoop, Stephen
- 2. Roberts, Mark

Ex-officio

- 1. Abraham, Sobi
- 2. Foxwell, Anda
- 3. Rood, Jennifer
- 4. Seminoff, Jeremy
- 5. Sexton, Daniel

Quorum: 10 members needed for quorum.

Notation conventions in the minutes:

1. Act of Endowment is quoted as AE §chapter.article (number).

2. All motions were moved and seconded.

Votes were YES for all items by all members providing a written ballot.

SY19-20:1 Call to Order and Establish Quorum (Gerald May, Chair, CAJ Board of Directors)

The meeting was called to order by Chair of the Board of Directors, Gerald May. Seventeen of the nineteen (17/19) Councilors were in attendance including ten who submitted their opinions on the agenda items in advance (AE §21.9). A majority (ten) is necessary to establish a quorum in accordance with AE §21.8.

SY19-20:2 Election of chair for this meeting

Motion to elect Pauline Carlson to serve as chair for this meeting.

Unanimously approved.

SY19-20:3 Election of Secretary for this meeting.

Motion to elect Karen Stoesz to serve as secretary for this meeting.

Unanimously approved.

SY19-20:4 Approval of the Agenda

Motion to approve the agenda.

Unanimously approved.

SY19-20:5 Approval of the Selection of the Signers of the Minutes

Motion to designate Karen Stoesz and Hiroaki Tada, in addition to Board of Councilors Chair Pauline Carlson, as signers for the minutes of the September 17, 2019 Board of Councilors meeting.

Unanimously approved.

SY19-20:6 Resignation of Stephen Durhkoop from Board of Councilors

Motion to approve resignation of Stephen Durhkoop from the Board of Councilors effective September 17, 2019 (AE §27.2.2)

Unanimously approved.

SY19-20:7 Resignation of Stephen Durhkoop from Board of Directors

Motion to approve resignation of Stephen Durhkoop from the Board of Directors effective September 17, 2019 (AE §27.2.2).

Unanimously approved.

SY19-20:8 Election of Daniel Sexton to Board of Councilors

Motion to elect Daniel Sexton as replacement for Stephen Durhkoop on the Board of Councilors effective September 17, 2019 and fulfilling the remainder of his term to June 30, 2020 (AE §25.1).

Unanimously approved.

SY19-20:9 Election of Daniel Sexton to Board of Directors

Motion to elect Daniel Sexton as replacement for Stephen Durhkoop on the Board of Directors effective September 17, 2019 and fulfilling the remainder of his term to June 30, 2020 (AE §25.1).

Unanimously approved.

SY19-20:10 Review and approve the minutes of the September 17, 2019 Board of Councilors minutes.

Minutes were reviewed to confirm the actions of this meeting.

Motion to approve the minutes of today's meeting with the understanding that minor corrections may be approved at our next Board meeting.

Unanimously approved.

SY19-20:11Adjournmen	t
----------------------	---

Motion to adjourn.

Unanimously approved.

Respectfully submitted,

Karen Stoesz, Board of Councilors Secretary		
Signatures:		
	(seal)	
Pauline Carlson		
Board of Councilors Chair		
	(seal)	
Elected Signer: Karen Stoesz		
Board of Councilors Member		
	(coal)	
Elected Signer: Hiroaki Tada	(seal)	
Board of Councilors Member		