CAJ Board of Directors Meeting Minutes 8:45 am Tuesday, September 12, 2023 Harvest Hall – Matsukawa Place

Attendance:

Daniel Sexton (OMS)
Tiffany Neufeld (SEND)
Grant Buchholtz (ECC)

Anne Marie Smoker (CRJM)

Seita Sakaguchi (Member-at-Large) Gregory Swenson (JVENTURE) David Mawhinney (CAJ) Jeremy Seminoff (Member-at-Large and Educator)

Matt Jansson (TEAM) - absent

Supervisor- Auditors

Mark Bedow

Taizo Morimoto- absent

SY23-24:1 Devotions and time of prayer for CAJ

Mark Bedow shared a devotion from Exodus 35.

SY23-24:2 Call to Order and Establish Quorum

The meeting was called to order at 9:07 a.m. A quorum was established with 8 members present.

SY23-24:3 Approval of Agenda

MSC to approve the agenda as presented.

SY23-24:4 Approval of the Selection of the Signers of the Minutes:

MSC to designate Anne Marie Smoker and Tiffany Neufeld, in addition to the Chairperson of the Board of Directors, as signers for the minutes of the September 12, 2023 Board of Directors Meeting.

SY23-24:5 Head of School Report: David Mawhinney

MSC to accept Head of School Report.

SY23-24:6 Staff members sharing:

The board was introduced to Marie Wahl, Director of Development, and Tyrone Fambro, the new High School Principal. There was also a time of prayer for them.

SY23-24:7 WASC update, review and feedback

MSC to accept the WASC update from David Mawhinney, which included a five-point action plan in preparation for the WASC visit in March 2024.

SY23-24:8 Code of Conduct for Child Safety: https://childsafeguarding.com

MSC for the board of directors to receive the three-hour training on child safety that is now required for all CAJ staff. This training will be recommended for the board of councilors, as well. We are requesting the Governance and Policy Committee to write up a policy about this expectation for future board members.

SY23-24:9 Opportunity Leadership: book introduction

The board will study "Opportunity Leadership" by Roger Parrott. We will discuss Part 1 at the October 10th meeting, with Seita Sakaguchi leading the discussion.

SY23-24:10 Orientation

Daniel led the board through an orientation of key policies and procedures. He gave an overview of policies B3 and B4, board member responsibilities, the Grievance Policy Review, Ends Statements Review (B1), and the Governance Policy.

There is an error discovered in policy B4.2.9.5 that will need to be changed by the Governance and Policy Committee.

SY23-24:11 Ongoing discussion items this year:

This is a brief list of issues to discuss during the year. We plan to talk about Sexual Orientation and Gender Identity, Building Committee/Development, and "Opportunity Leadership" book.

SY23-24:12 Discussion regarding intent to serve on Directors for next term 2024-2026

Anne Marie Smoker, as head of the Governance Committee, will contact all founding missions about their nominees for the next term that starts in July 2024 and gather nominations for other members.

SY23-24:13 Committee Assignments

Executive Committee

Daniel Sexton, Board Chair Jeremy Seminoff, Board Vice-Chair Tiffany Neufeld, Vice-Chair for Finance Grant Buchholtz, Secretary Ex-officio: David Mawhinney, Head of School

Finance and Audit Committee

Tiffany Neufeld, Chair; Jeremy Seminoff; Grant Buchholtz Ex-officio: David Mawhinney, Head of School; Selwyn Chua, Business Manager; Daniel Sexton, Board of Directors Chair Supervisor-Auditors Mark Bedow and/or Taizo Morimoto will attend when possible.

Governance and Policy Review Committee

Anne Marie Smoker, Chair; Matt Jansson; Seita Sakaguchi; Greg Swenson

Ex-officio: David Mawhinney, Head of School; Daniel Sexton, Board of Directors Chair

Supervisor-Auditors Mark Bedow and/or Taizo Morimoto will attend when possible.

SY23-24:13 Board Housekeeping:

The board filled out the sign-up list for devotions, prayer lists and meeting preparations for this board year.

SY23-24:14 Review and approve the minutes of the September 12th, 2023 Board of Directors Meeting

MSC to approve the minutes.

SY23-24:15 Adjournment

MSC to adjourn at 1:32 p.m.	
Respectfully submitted, Grant I	Buchholtz, secretary
Signatures	
	(seal) Daniel Sexton - Board Chair
	(seal) Anne Marie Smoker - Board Member
	(seal) Tiffany Neufeld - Board Member